HP Compaq Presario V3614AU
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: HP Compaq Presario V3614AU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    kuala lumpur
    Posts
    79

    HP Compaq Presario V3614AU

    Bought V3614AU at RM1999 promo. Thought it was a good deal, 14.1'', AMD Turion 64 X2, 512MB RAM, 120GB HDD, CD/DVD-RW, Bluetooth etc.... well the only thing is it comes only with FreeDos. "KOSONG" lah..... nightmare begins when comes to installation. used Windows XP & difficult to find drivers in hp's official site suddenly found out that this machine is made for Windows Vista ........ so...chatted with HP technician online in South America....aiyo???? helped me to find a few drivers & ultimately, they also gave up also and asked me to contact local HP support. this is a joke.... so, did a google & found some drivers & loaded most of them. but still unstable. hangs...audio device not detected, volume control not functioning...... this is nightmare. HP doesn't provide any installation cd. this is the 1st & my last time for using HP laptop. i used dell previously & now also. no problem..... regreted now for choosing HP. should have just stick to dell. also the HP compaq is much hotter than my current dell inspiron 6000 (intel).

    anyone in this forum has all the stable drivers for V3614AU???? Pls help....

    think twice before getting this machine!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USJ
    Posts
    674
    why not try linux? Suse linux or ubuntu also can.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    kuala lumpur
    Posts
    79
    tks hth. i am a layman . what is linux? to replace XP? can i use linux to operate word, excel, powerpoint, int.explorer and outlook express?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USJ
    Posts
    674
    yes and no.
    In Linux, u can still edit and view Word doc, Excel spreadsheet, PowerPoint presentation, but you won't be using Microsoft Office. You could use Open Office. For IE and Outlook, u could use Firefox and Thunderbird.

    Anyway, in order to get the correct device driver, u need to identify the device correctly. instead of searching for drivers for the laptop V3614AU, u could search for individual driver for individual devices. wat audio device is on this laptop, for eg.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USJ
    Posts
    674
    hey...there are people out there trying to do the same thing as you....
    Check this out...
    http://www.kelvinloke.com/2007/11/16...au-windows-xp/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    ex USJ2, now NorCal
    Posts
    391
    Here are the drivers meant for Vista
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...554095&lang=en

    You purchased a 'kosong OS' and you complain that Microsoft is not there to help you figure out what drivers you need. The notebook is shipped with FreeDOS, a non windows operating system. The idea is that you purchased this because you know what needs to be done. Either work in DOS, or install your fav linux distro.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    USJ
    Posts
    673
    The poor guy is a layman and you guys are telling him to go Linux? He's gonna have an even bigger headache.
    Right now I'm looking at an Ubuntu 7.10 that has issues installing 3D drivers coz it's not on talking terms with my ATI card.
    A Kubuntu 7.10 that has problems with my 4965 wireless.
    A Fedora 8 that tells me that if I wanna dual-boot, I'll have to do it manually.
    Talk about alternatives.
    It's easier to look for a cracked version of Vista and just load it in.
    Btw, next time before you purchase a system, check out it's website for available drivers. No point going cheap and then end up getting stuck.
    For XP backward compatibility, you'll have better luck with Dell, Toshiba, Fujitsu, Acer and Asus.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    UEP Subang Jaya
    Posts
    5,867
    Forget all the kepalapusing. Sent to a lowyat guy or summit, asked them to install everything for you for a fee of RM50. Eventhough I am IT literate, time is more precious. Get them to burn a CD for u incase u need it in future.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Subang Jaya
    Posts
    25

    driver for compaq presario

    hi i have the same experience but after i chat with the US customer support they gave me tis link and i manage to install all the drive and it works perfectly well now

    i also got a freedos, nobody can help n sort the problem.
    den call malaysia hp support dey directed me to the call center which is in india i cant even understand wat he was talking. den thank God finally i online chat with the US hp support den she gave me tis link
    my model is compaq presario V3521. hope tis can help u....it works for me. cause i understand how frustrated it was.


    http://downloadmirror.intel.com/df-s...inst_autol.exe
    Steffi: HP Integrated Module with Bluetooth Wireless Technology Software:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp32001-32500/sp32315.exe
    Steffi: Network adapter driver:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp32001-32500/sp32144.exe
    Steffi: Broadcom wireless driver:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp34001-34500/sp34152.exe
    Steffi: Wireless driver:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp34001-34500/sp34489.exe
    Steffi: Quick launch buttons:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp32501-33000/sp32597.exe
    Steffi: Touch pad Driver:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp33501-34000/sp33751.exe
    Steffi: Video driver(VGA):

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp33501-34000/sp33761.exe
    Steffi: Before installing the Audio and modem drivers in your Notebook you have to install the microsoft update(UAA) driver from the below link:
    Steffi: UAA drivers:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp32501-33000/sp32646.exe
    Steffi: After installing this restart the Notebook, Now download and install the audio driver from the following link:
    Steffi: Audio driver:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp33501-34000/sp33543.exe
    Steffi: Installing this driver may result in an error. But continue with the following steps to get the audio driver installed correctly.
    Steffi: 1. Click on Start and select Run. Now type devmgmt.msc and press enter.

    2. Right click on "Audio device on High Definition Audio Bus" and click Update driver.
    Steffi: 3. Select "Install from a list or specific location".

    4. Click Next. Then select "Don't search, I will choose the driver to install".
    Steffi: 5. Click Next and then select "Sound, video and game controller" from the list.

    6. Click Next and then click Have Disk.
    Steffi: 7. Click Browse C:\swsetup\sp33543 folder and select the .inf (wis30b2a) file and click open and Continue with the onscreen instructions.
    Steffi: Modem driver:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp33001-33500/sp33340.exe
    Steffi: This will give error message and also will create a folder C:\swsetup\sp33340 which contains extracted driver files.
    Steffi: **The same method which is used for installing the Audio needs to be followed.
    Steffi: For you convenience, I will send a copy of this chat session to your

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    USJ11
    Posts
    1,324
    Quote Originally Posted by fragman
    Bought V3614AU at RM1999 promo. Thought it was a good deal, 14.1'', AMD Turion 64 X2, 512MB RAM, 120GB HDD, CD/DVD-RW, Bluetooth etc.... this is the 1st & my last time for using HP laptop. i used dell previously & now also. no problem..... regreted now for choosing HP. should have just stick to dell. also the HP compaq is much hotter than my current dell inspiron 6000 (intel).
    Barebones/low priced machines (whether it's Dell, Hp, Lenovo, Sony or Toshiba, etc) are for those people who are well versed with OSes or have friends who can upgrade and set up the machine for them.

    In any case, the hardware specs for your machine is not adequate for Windows Vista - unless you don't mind waiting ages for anything to run.

    My suggestion is sell it off, and get one with the proper software preinstalled so you can get continuous support if you think you will need a fair bit of hand holding to get off the ground. But don't expect to get a package like that for below RM3K if you want to have legal software (Vista Home Premium+MSO SBE is already RM1K++ in cost for OEM versions, nearly RM3K for retail package). Someone has to be paid to do what you don't know how to do....that's life.

    BTW I run Freedos in my office. It's a great piece of OS. It's not `kosong', and there's nothing wrong with it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    kuala lumpur
    Posts
    79
    tks hth. appreciate your advice. will try it out.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    kuala lumpur
    Posts
    79
    tks shirley for understanding my position. would really tempted to try your sp.. but worried that it cause more prob on 3614..., but i will check out your sp first one..by one.... to assess its compatibility

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    kuala lumpur
    Posts
    79
    Quote Originally Posted by simon_tan
    Here are the drivers meant for Vista
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...554095&lang=en

    You purchased a 'kosong OS' and you complain that Microsoft is not there to help you figure out what drivers you need. The notebook is shipped with FreeDOS, a non windows operating system. The idea is that you purchased this because you know what needs to be done. Either work in DOS, or install your fav linux distro.
    i thank you for reply. nevertheless, i don't need vista drivers for a reason. i need HP and it's components' drivers for XP. otherwise, i don't need to post my problems in this thread.

    secondly, i did not complain abt Microsoft. i complained abt HP.

    thirdly, FreeDOS is not a non-windows operating system as you claimed. it only means you need to install Windows & the laptop's compatible drivers to get it fully functional.

    last, i know what's to be done and most people who bought this kind of laptop knows what to be done. the only point here is HP is not providing the adequate tools & support to their customers. fyi, HP cannot solved my problem. do you think it is the user's fault?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    kuala lumpur
    Posts
    79
    Quote Originally Posted by FineTuned
    Barebones/low priced machines (whether it's Dell, Hp, Lenovo, Sony or Toshiba, etc) are for those people who are well versed with OSes or have friends who can upgrade and set up the machine for them.

    In any case, the hardware specs for your machine is not adequate for Windows Vista - unless you don't mind waiting ages for anything to run.

    My suggestion is sell it off, and get one with the proper software preinstalled so you can get continuous support if you think you will need a fair bit of hand holding to get off the ground. But don't expect to get a package like that for below RM3K if you want to have legal software (Vista Home Premium+MSO SBE is already RM1K++ in cost for OEM versions, nearly RM3K for retail package). Someone has to be paid to do what you don't know how to do....that's life.
    BTW I run Freedos in my office. It's a great piece of OS. It's not `kosong', and there's nothing wrong with it.
    selling off now is not an option for me now. but i am interested to know further how you run on FreeDOS. any free advice?? tks bro

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    USJ11
    Posts
    1,324
    Quote Originally Posted by fragman
    selling off now is not an option for me now. but i am interested to know further how you run on FreeDOS. any free advice?? tks bro
    I'm sorry if I sounded like I'm criticising you...it's just my bad choice of words. Sorry again.

    Freedos is not compatible with Windows XP or Vista. These are different OSes. However, Freedos can run alot of old MSDos software....file managers, word processors, spreadsheets, even databases if you still have them. If you don't already have these, then obviously Freedos is not suitable for you.

    I know you think you will lose money if you sell off your V3614AU now. But if you continue to try to trouble shoot it as you are doing now, my `business sense' tells me you are losing out in productivity and money. Without OEM Windows and MSO, you are going to be paying a bomb for retail copies.

    If you are planning to install pirated software...then it's a different story. But you can't rightly expect HP or anybody else to provide software support then.

    Some of us who replied you are `veterans' in the use of the pc. Even so, we recognise today that setting up a new Windows pc is no joke and we would gladly pay to have it done for us and to have continued legal software support from the hardware vendor. A branded pc/notebook with Windows XP/Vista and/or MSO preinstalled is actually the real bargain pricewise, and I am concerned that you are trying to do it the hard way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •