PDA

View Full Version : Astro decoder



pucman
12-07-2009, 11:49 PM
Anybody know where I can sell my old black color Astro decoder ?

chin_wan
12-07-2009, 11:55 PM
Why you wanna sell it?

Sentinel
13-07-2009, 01:08 AM
I seem to have some problem with my Astro remote control, one or two of the buttons seem defective i.e. not responding. Do they allow us to change or do they charge us for a new one?

bugbear
13-07-2009, 01:40 AM
I seem to have some problem with my Astro remote control, one or two of the buttons seem defective i.e. not responding. Do they allow us to change or do they charge us for a new one?
My old black decoder malfunction something like yours do. They will be no new decoder unless you want to buy the whole set once again. The best is to buy it off pucman. :D

chsum
13-07-2009, 07:42 AM
err.. they don't sell decoder in the open market, only the remote, u can go back to their service center for repair or get a new one, click for asstro wedsite at www.astro.com.my.

sentinel, ur problem could be the remote.

my decoder sense

chewie
13-07-2009, 08:06 AM
I seem to have some problem with my Astro remote control, one or two of the buttons seem defective i.e. not responding. Do they allow us to change or do they charge us for a new one?

nope..just got to any electrical shop to purchase one.... imitation is cost about rm10... original, cost about rm30

gtl
13-07-2009, 09:14 AM
i hope astro change them if astro own the unit as starhub in singapore change without any question ask.
in msia, who owns the decoder? astro or user?
in sin, starhub owns the decoder, user pays monthly rental.

pucman
13-07-2009, 09:38 AM
Why you wanna sell it?

Because astro gave me the new white color set when I reinstall recently.

But old set is still working.

maxima
13-07-2009, 11:01 AM
Because astro gave me the new white color set when I reinstall recently.

But old set is still working.

Just keep it as spare lah.

I lend my decoder to bro and left only the disc, so I reinstalled another one set in Seremban. Now I can just bring along the decoder and watch at both places.

USJ27Resident
13-07-2009, 04:27 PM
I seem to have some problem with my Astro remote control, one or two of the buttons seem defective i.e. not responding. Do they allow us to change or do they charge us for a new one?

There's a wholesale shop in near the Mall that sells the remotes for Astro @ RM4.80.

Brothers' Kelana Jaya (the electrical branch) sells 'em @ RM7.90.

Thot you guys wud like the info!!

geordie
13-07-2009, 05:22 PM
Just wondering ....

My previous tenant left behind an Astro Decoder (silver'ish one) and the dish. So, can the next tenant just apply for a Smartcard to get it activated ???

Sorry for the inane question - this comes from someone who watches less than an hour of telly a week .....

Sentinel
13-07-2009, 09:12 PM
There's a wholesale shop in near the Mall that sells the remotes for Astro @ RM4.80.

Brothers' Kelana Jaya (the electrical branch) sells 'em @ RM7.90.

Thot you guys wud like the info!!
Brader, which mall? Gurney Plaza? Queensbay Mall? :D but thanks nevertheless. I will go to the Astro office in Georgetown, if not then I will buy in USJ. :D

USJ27Resident
13-07-2009, 10:16 PM
Brader, which mall? Gurney Plaza? Queensbay Mall? :D . :D

Opss...sorry, this one (MALL) is in KL... opposite PWTC.. :p

bslee
13-07-2009, 10:20 PM
Electronics shops at Jalan Pasar lah.. loads of it all. Buy 5 pcs, oso won't break the bank.

BMW9700
13-07-2009, 10:29 PM
just a word of advise...its better to buy the original remotes for astro..these are quite cheap now eg RM30 plus..it works much longer and very responsive...the compitable remotes only last for a few days....this is from my experence..

regards

PJS
13-07-2009, 10:34 PM
just a word of advise...its better to buy the original remotes for astro..these are quite cheap now eg RM30 plus..it works much longer and very responsive...the compitable remotes only last for a few days....this is from my experence..

regards


Agree!

I got 2 original Astro and 2 RM9 remotes from Jln Pasar. Somehow the buttons on original remotes are more responsive, and their battery cover doesn't break as readily as the Jln Pasar ones... :D

pucman,

you can try and sell the decoder at Cash Converters, not sure if they wanna buy Astro decoders though and probably pay u just enuff for your petrol tro drive there, but you can call and ask first.

bslee
13-07-2009, 11:04 PM
just a word of advise...its better to buy the original remotes for astro..these are quite cheap now eg RM30 plus..it works much longer and very responsive...the compitable remotes only last for a few days....this is from my experence..


Of course I'd agree the original is best, if money no object. I go Pasar Rd to shop for various items and had a feel of current remotes. They're now quite different and I'm afraid likely for the worse. The buttons seem harder and flimsier plastics...perhaps why so cheap. I still use my clones from there, few years todate and still ok. Now to mention it, Mydin also got them clone remotes. It all boils down to price as these things are selling like hot cakes. I reckon, its anyone's choice lah..

USJ27Resident
14-07-2009, 12:21 AM
Of course I'd agree the original is best,.....

Did buy an original replacement - but the kids dropped that too... and it kaputted!! 39/- down the drain... :mad: so from then on... its been the Revenge of the Clones,... :p

kuma
14-07-2009, 02:01 AM
My experience also shows that its best to buy the 'original' remote for Astro. They work better and last longer. The clones will end up irritating you with their erratic behavior.

I have an original and a clone. The clone acts as a standby. As with most remotes...they often take a walk or nap under a cushion. Then, you can never find them when you need it. That's when the clone...tucked away secretly behind the decoder comes useful.

The original remote will show up eventually. This saves you $$ [in case you rush out and buy one, only to return and find it by the TV]:(... and the stress of deciding whose turn it is to change channels at the decoder, not forgetting your back as you bend to reach it and fiddle with it. :D

PJS
14-07-2009, 11:51 PM
Did buy an original replacement - but the kids dropped that too... and it kaputted!! 39/- down the drain... :mad: so from then on... its been the Revenge of the Clones,... :p

I "clothe" all my remotes now with those quilted pillow-case like, remote control protectors from Thailand, especially useful for those expensive TV/DVD multifunction remotes. You can find them for Rm10 or RM15 in USJ Summit, 2nd or 3rd floor where those Thai stalls are. Now the remotes can be dropped many times without breaking. :D