PDA

View Full Version : Astro problem?



Jey
09-09-2008, 01:33 PM
Does anyone have problems with their Astro decoder recently. I have been having "Auto Update" that has been running for 2 days straight with no end in sight and we are not able to watch any programs at all. THe sickening "Auto Upate" doesnt seem to end and no matter how many times we rebooted the Decoder, it doesnt seem to stop the auto updating. Seems to me like the Astro transmission problem. Called the disgusting Astro who said they will send someone over tomorrow and there will be a charge of RM50 to be paid to the technician who comes over. Question is why should I be paying the technician when this is not a problem caused by our ownselves. Shouldnt Astro send someone to olook into it and the cost borne by them since we are already paying subscription for the transmission? What else are we paying the subscription for then, if these type of faults rectification needs to be borned by us also?

Disgusting Asstro!! :mad: :mad: :mad:

wsp
09-09-2008, 01:42 PM
yes, i have the same problem.
Exactly a minimum of RM50 or more if change of parts. thinking of terminating their service straight away!
too bad, we have to bear with this type of service given by a monopoly king!

BMW9700
09-09-2008, 01:48 PM
Does anyone have problems with their Astro decoder recently. I have been having "Auto Update" that has been running for 2 days straight with no end in sight and we are not able to watch any programs at all. THe sickening "Auto Upate" doesnt seem to end and no matter how many times we rebooted the Decoder, it doesnt seem to stop the auto updating. Seems to me like the Astro transmission problem. Called the disgusting Astro who said they will send someone over tomorrow and there will be a charge of RM50 to be paid to the technician who comes over. Question is why should I be paying the technician when this is not a problem caused by our ownselves. Shouldnt Astro send someone to olook into it and the cost borne by them since we are already paying subscription for the transmission? What else are we paying the subscription for then, if these type of faults rectification needs to be borned by us also?

Disgusting Asstro!! :mad: :mad: :mad:



the auto update is not for the benefit of subscribers but to update the security settings..you will be paying anyway...what choice do we have?

bslee
09-09-2008, 02:33 PM
Don't rule out the decoder set-top box can have faulty electronics (which no-one except Philips Sevice can properly diagnose and kau-tim). Only recently, I assisted a friend who couldn't receive TV1 and one other channel despite downloading all channels and default auto configuration was reset. A trip to Philips and replacement of a surface mount chip solved the problem. The Philips set top box (just like PC motherboard) is limited to withstand certain amount of heat when mounted in an enclosed hifi rack. Ah!... the perils of today's electronics.
If your box is a Philips, send the unit together with your card to Philips Service at Crystal Plaza PJ and they can do it within a day.(from past experience and for a small fee)

Rocky19
09-09-2008, 02:40 PM
Mine took ages to boot up and the guy told me likely the set top box. RM50 to come and RM50 to repair. I had another set-top box cos I canceled ,my 2nd decoder some time back. I just swap set top box, took 20mins or so to update and then walla it works. Likely yours is also set top related.

vsat
09-09-2008, 02:53 PM
From my experience in the satellite industry, the Auto Update is definitely not your fault. It is your faulT only when the dish is moved or the cable is loose.

thkhong
12-09-2008, 11:43 AM
I am having problems accessing to Astro right now. Only test pattern lines. Is anyone having the same problems like this. Pl. advise or is Astro out to con us out of our RM50 to their contractors to "fix" the problem.

ungkb
07-06-2014, 10:21 AM
Hi to all . Anyone in USJ or Subang facing the above problem more than once a day ?

besitai2007
07-06-2014, 01:11 PM
Mine updated quite smoothly. About half a day and rebooted to new User Interface. Now there is an annoying channel selection band at the bottom of the screen each time you change channel which takes about 1 - 2 secs to disappear.

ungkb
07-06-2014, 01:26 PM
Hi to all . Anyone in USJ or Subang facing the above problem more than once a day ?

After I did the auto update. The problem is still there. So, after the technician changed the decoder he says the problem is with the hard disk. T orequest activation you must provide smart card no & decoder no. Activation of new decoder is within 24 hours.

ungkb
07-06-2014, 02:11 PM
After I did the auto update. The problem is still there. So, after the technician changed the byond decoder he says the problem is with the hard disk. T orequest activation you must provide smart card no & decoder no. Activation of new decoder is within 24 hours.

The next day. If there still no activation, you can try calling cust service.They will to expedite the activation.

ng
07-06-2014, 02:24 PM
After I did the auto update. The problem is still there. So, after the technician changed the decoder he says the problem is with the hard disk. T orequest activation you must provide smart card no & decoder no. Activation of new decoder is within 24 hours.

Usually, its the hard disk that fails especially if you record often.

I replaced with a new decoder and there's no problem for the past few months.

patrick
07-06-2014, 06:29 PM
Does anyone have problems with their Astro decoder recently. I have been having "Auto Update" that has been running for 2 days straight with no end in sight and we are not able to watch any programs at all. THe sickening "Auto Upate" doesnt seem to end and no matter how many times we rebooted the Decoder, it doesnt seem to stop the auto updating. Seems to me like the Astro transmission problem. Called the disgusting Astro who said they will send someone over tomorrow and there will be a charge of RM50 to be paid to the technician who comes over. Question is why should I be paying the technician when this is not a problem caused by our ownselves. Shouldnt Astro send someone to olook into it and the cost borne by them since we are already paying subscription for the transmission? What else are we paying the subscription for then, if these type of faults rectification needs to be borned by us also?

Disgusting Asstro!! :mad: :mad: :mad:

Maybe you want to consider filing a case against them in the Consumer court ? Just pay RM5 and file a case. No need lawyer.

Sentinel
07-06-2014, 07:51 PM
Maybe you want to consider filing a case against them in the Consumer court ? Just pay RM5 and file a case. No need lawyer.

You're replying to Jey's posting 6 years ago lah bro...

Sent from my iPad(c)
Powered by Telkomsel Indonesia

USJ27Resident
08-06-2014, 10:07 AM
You're replying to Jey's posting 6 years ago lah bro...

Sent from my iPad(c)
Powered by Telkomsel Indonesia

Kihkihkih,..... Delayed telecast.... :p

patrick
08-06-2014, 04:58 PM
You're replying to Jey's posting 6 years ago lah bro...

Sent from my iPad(c)
Powered by Telkomsel Indonesia

Alamak...really blur like blur sotong these days!! Apology to all !!

Sentinel
08-06-2014, 07:16 PM
Alamak...really blur like blur sotong these days!! Apology to all !!

Too many days lazing in the Caribbean sun... give your "free miles" to us poor folks lah, Pat!

Sent from my iPad(c)
Powered by Telkomsel Indonesia

ungkb
10-07-2014, 07:13 AM
Ho to all. Anyone out there facing the above problem once in a while with their Byond unit ?

USJ27Resident
10-07-2014, 10:09 AM
Ho to all. Anyone out there facing the above problem once in a while with their Byond unit ?

perhaps too much traffic and obstruction updates.... :p

....opps.... pink color, you say?..... perhaps, intermittent strong feminine transmissions... :D

ng
10-07-2014, 11:33 AM
Ho to all. Anyone out there facing the above problem once in a while with their Byond unit ?

Usually, there's something wrong with the new software version.

Just unplug power , then reboot the decoder.
If problem still not solved, ask them to change decoder.

Charbroiled
10-07-2014, 11:37 AM
....opps.... pink color, you say?..... perhaps, intermittent strong feminine transmissions... :DIn the given context, pink is the "official" color for g** lifestyle :eek: :laugh:

ungkb
10-07-2014, 12:02 PM
Ho to all. Anyone out there facing the above problem once in a while with their Byond unit ?

I talked to a guy at Mid Valley computer fair. He said hot Decoder.Switched off for a while & swiched it back on.

tupai
10-07-2014, 12:33 PM
AHHAHAAHAHH...:heheheh:5 yrs on after this thread was started and thousands of views/complaints & like pussycat like bitchings, u blur sotongs still pay up and then &^^%$$@! about this asstro??? :heheheh:

SUCKERS dont deserve to keep their hard earned (some easily earned) money lah!:heheheh:

Yang Beberapa tahun dulu Bagi asstro TIUxlatotupai:cool:

siewdanny
10-07-2014, 06:50 PM
Mine couldn't update software a while back. They came and changed the little thing at the tip of the bar on the dish and now everyone is happy. That thingy cost me RM3.00 and no other fees charged.