PDA

View Full Version : Economical Way of Recording TV Programs



hhtee
14-05-2007, 01:50 PM
Hi. I would like to know, if there is anyway to record a TV program to a digital format bearing in mind, the keyword "economically".

where can I get such device?
how much does it cost?
in what format does the device record the program to? (e.g. mp3, mp4, avi?)

Cheers

stanleywkh
14-05-2007, 04:38 PM
Ah economical does it mean less than RM 1K or even lesser?

As for me I am using a Sony DVD Recorder ( without harddisk ) thats costs RM900 to record Astro cartoon and children programmes for my daughter. I am using DVD R+ and - to record the show into DVD format. Each DVD costs about RM1.20/pc and can record up to 2 1/2 hours depending on the quality of your recording.

The newer DVD recorder comes with built in hard disk and costs abt RM1400 and above. The China ones like GC and Mwalker should cost less than RM500 but their reliability maybe suspected.

For me this is the simplest way and I can buy much more less original children VCDs from the retail shops.

hhtee
14-05-2007, 04:42 PM
stanley, does that mean you connect those wyres to your camcorder and press record on the camcorder ? more details please

waktu_senja
14-05-2007, 05:29 PM
For daily off-air TV recording, get a GC DVD Recorder from Carrefour @ RM 420-00. No H/disk, just insert a blank disc. It has a built-in TV Tuner. One blank DVD Re-writable disc (RM 3-00) can record 6 hrs (EP+). Select either SP, LP, EP, EP+, record either MPEG 1 or 2. Can record 1,000 times. Not satisfied after a week, just return it back to get 100% refund.

stanleywkh
14-05-2007, 06:51 PM
stanley, does that mean you connect those wyres to your camcorder and press record on the camcorder ? more details please

The wiring goes like this. First your astro decoder Vjdeo and Audio out goes to the DVD recorder video and audio in. Then plug another set of RCA cable ( the yellow, red and white cable ) into the DVD recorder out and plug the other end to your TV ( AVI1, AV2 or AVI3 whichever is available ). Select the channel you want to record. U can also use timer to record the shows you want.

It is actually like Astromax but Astromax is using harddisk to record and burning the recording into DVD maybe a bit hassle. I am also not sure how reliable is the Astromax.

Waktu senja also got a good point. Try buy a GC DVD recorder from Carrefour and try it first. Never thought of using DVD RW at first. Will change it when my DVD R supply is finished. Thanks.

burntan
14-05-2007, 09:17 PM
AstroMax is a better solution because you can watch one channel and at the same time record the other.

steelydan
14-05-2007, 10:53 PM
For adventurer guys, it cost less than RM250. Get an external capture card from a reputable computer store at section 14 PJ or LowYat KL. Connect it to your PC. The driver contains software for schdule recordings. You can burn directly into your DVD RW or CD. You can record in compress Divx,MP4,VCD or DVD. Better still, record it in external harddisk which is really cheap at RM230 for 250 gigabiyte. The future is in external hard disk. DVDs are getting too cumbersome as your collection grows. :)

hhtee
14-05-2007, 11:02 PM
The wiring goes like this. First your astro decoder Vjdeo and Audio out goes to the DVD recorder video and audio in. Then plug another set of RCA cable ( the yellow, red and white cable ) into the DVD recorder out and plug the other end to your TV ( AVI1, AV2 or AVI3 whichever is available ). Select the channel you want to record. U can also use timer to record the shows you want.

It is actually like Astromax but Astromax is using harddisk to record and burning the recording into DVD maybe a bit hassle. I am also not sure how reliable is the Astromax.

Waktu senja also got a good point. Try buy a GC DVD recorder from Carrefour and try it first. Never thought of using DVD RW at first. Will change it when my DVD R supply is finished. Thanks.
the wiring scares me and I don't have much time to learn :D maybe next time.

I am tempted to try Waktu Senja's suggestion

hhtee
14-05-2007, 11:03 PM
AstroMax is a better solution because you can watch one channel and at the same time record the other.
but I think you have to pay a monthly fee right ?

I am just going to do a one-time recording. Thanks for the suggestion

hhtee
14-05-2007, 11:04 PM
For adventurer guys, it cost less than RM250. Get an external capture card from a reputable computer store at section 14 PJ or LowYat KL. Connect it to your PC. The driver contains software for schdule recordings. You can burn directly into your DVD RW or CD. You can record in compress Divx,MP4,VCD or DVD. Better still, record it in external harddisk which is really cheap at RM230 for 250 gigabiyte. The future is in external hard disk. DVDs are getting too cumbersome as your collection grows. :)
what about the wirings ?

I am concerned with the wirings.

The RM250 seems reasonable!

waktu_senja
15-05-2007, 12:36 AM
steelydan :-
For adventurer guys, it cost less than RM250. Get an external capture card from a reputable computer store at section 14 PJ or LowYat KL. Connect it to your PC. The driver contains software for schdule recordings. You can burn directly into your DVD RW or CD. You can record in compress Divx,MP4,VCD or DVD. Better still, record it in external harddisk which is really cheap at RM230 for 250 gigabiyte. The future is in external hard disk. DVDs are getting too cumbersome as your collection grows.


hhtee :-
Is there anyway to record a TV program to a digital format bearing in mind, the keyword "economically.

To record TV program,
Capture card + H/D + RM 200 (TV Card) = RM 680.

GC Standalone DVD Recorder = RM420
Not satisfied within a week, just return it for 100% cash refund.

LXDGRT
15-05-2007, 11:18 AM
If I am not mistaken, the HD will require an enclosure which will set you back another rm200?

steelydan
16-05-2007, 01:27 AM
[QUOTE=waktu_senja].

To record TV program,
Capture card + H/D + RM 200 (TV Card) = RM 680.

GC Standalone DVD Recorder = RM420
Not satisfied within a week, just return it for 100% cash refund.[/QU


Cheapest external capture card with wiring cost RM185
External Harddisk 250gigabyte with casing cost RM 350 or less.
GC DVD recorder is not reliable and I don't think it has a build in tuner.
What's the point of using for 1 week when the original intention is to find a cheap and viable solution to storing and recording videos?

patrick
16-05-2007, 01:52 AM
For daily off-air TV recording, get a GC DVD Recorder from Carrefour @ RM 420-00. No H/disk, just insert a blank disc. It has a built-in TV Tuner. One blank DVD Re-writable disc (RM 3-00) can record 6 hrs (EP+). Select either SP, LP, EP, EP+, record either MPEG 1 or 2. Can record 1,000 times. Not satisfied after a week, just return it back to get 100% refund.

Careful...I dont recommend recording on EP (6 hours). Quality is not very acceptable. Lowest level I would advise is SP (std play) which will allow 2 hours recording. Worse case, LP (4 hours) but at this level, action playback is not too acceptable.

waktu_senja
16-05-2007, 11:24 AM
steelydan :
Cheapest external capture card with wiring cost RM185.
External Harddisk 250gigabyte with casing cost RM 350 or less.
GC DVD recorder is not reliable and I don't think it has a build in tuner. What's the point of using for 1 week when the original intention is to find a cheap and viable solution to storing and recording videos?
Capture Card + H/disk cost (185 + 350) = 535, which cost more than GC DVD Recorder at 420.
Remember, the keyword is "Economical”

GC DVD Recorder - Model : 7727 has a built-in TV Tuner.
There’s no better source for reliable & accurate specification than getting it from the Owner himself (exclude Manufacturer). Still having doubt? Then call Gelombang Cekal at 9076 2828 to satisfy your need. Unit purchased in Nov 2005 @ RM 578, now cheaper and it had been giving me good service & performance after hundred hours of p/back & recording for the past 18 mths. Defination of “Buy & Return” policy is to give buyer an option to test the product for a week without losing a sen. Can you return back the Capture card & H/disk (even after an hour of usage) for cash refund?


Patrick :
Careful...I dont recommend recording on EP (6 hours). Quality is not very acceptable. Lowest level I would advise is SP (std play) which will allow 2 hours recording. Worse case, LP (4 hours) but at this level, action playback is not too acceptable.

Extended Play plus EP+ (6 hrs) is recommended for “Once-off recording” where you can record & view six different movies lasting 1 hr each. Quality is good (if not better) then VHS playback as you won’t notice any drop-out in digital format. For archive into DVD collection, select HQ at 6000 kbit/s or 8000 kbit/s (720 x 480) – 1 hr 20 mins

Get Xilisoft to convert Avi files to Mpeg 1, Mpeg 2, MPEG 4 formats, and also converting MPEG 1, MPEG 2 to AVI.
http://www.xilisoft.com/video-converter.html

steelydan
17-05-2007, 01:15 AM
Capture Card + H/disk cost (185 + 350) = 535, which cost more than GC DVD Recorder at 420.
Remember, the keyword is "Economical”

GC DVD Recorder - Model : 7727 has a built-in TV Tuner.
There’s no better source for reliable & accurate specification than getting it from the Owner himself (exclude Manufacturer). Still having doubt? Then call Gelombang Cekal at 9076 2828 to satisfy your need. Unit purchased in Nov 2005 @ RM 578, now cheaper and it had been giving me good service & performance after hundred hours of p/back & recording for the past 18 mths. Defination of “Buy & Return” policy is to give buyer an option to test the product for a week without losing a sen. Can you return back the Capture card & H/disk (even after an hour of usage) for cash refund?



Extended Play plus EP+ (6 hrs) is recommended for “Once-off recording” where you can record & view six different movies lasting 1 hr each. Quality is good (if not better) then VHS playback as you won’t notice any drop-out in digital format. For archive into DVD collection, select HQ at 6000 kbit/s or 8000 kbit/s (720 x 480) – 1 hr 20 mins

Get Xilisoft to convert Avi files to Mpeg 1, Mpeg 2, MPEG 4 formats, and also converting MPEG 1, MPEG 2 to AVI.
http://www.xilisoft.com/video-converter.html


Can you schedule the recording time or time shift with the GC DVD recorder?
It might be a problem for taping a daily series when you are overseas due to low storage on a dvd disk.

hhtee
19-05-2007, 02:39 AM
Sorry guys! I had been missing in Action.

I went to purchase a PVR-TV 300U

source:http://www.jakeludington.com/images/gadgets/kworldpvrtv300.jpg
http://www.jakeludington.com/images/gadgets/kworldpvrtv300.jpg

The good news is, FROM THE ADVERTISEMENT, it can record TV, etc. The salesman also told me can record Astro. The salesman also told me it can word on USB 1.0

THE BAD NEWS!!!!!
I tried on my Window XP SP1, with USB 1.0 laptop! All the installation was ok. but I cannot run the program.
Contacted the Taiwan manufacturer. No replies!

I also tried on Windows Vista, with USB 2.0! Now, the program can run BUT NOT FULLY and I cannot capture any video at all.

There goes my RM200+

djaynaz
20-05-2007, 11:33 AM
Well my hobby is watching tv programs,but since i am working n i am unable 2 watch the tv programs during day time.i purchased an AstroMax which cost me RM899(my old decoder was taken away) and it comes with a 80GB hard disk which can store up to 60hours of recorded programs.I surveyed around and infact i have tested the Sony DVD recorder,GC ,MWalker and also LG,but none of provide features like Astromax. While recording a program,u can always switch to another channel n continue watching other programs too.It is really user friendly and easy to handle. There are alot of features in it.Instead of purchasing a normal DVD-R which cost more than RM1000,AstroMax is reasonable and reliable.It is meant to watch at your own leisure.

charis14
20-05-2007, 03:34 PM
Thanks to this thread, I am now seriously contemplating on the GC option.

One question re the DVD-RW. Is the recording always from the beginning of the CD or can we set the recording to CONTINUE from a previous recording?

patrick
20-05-2007, 03:36 PM
....While recording a program,u can always switch to another channel n continue watching other programs too.It is really user friendly and easy to handle. There are alot of features in it.

Well if it can do that, then that's cool man! Then maybe I may consider getting a Max too even though I already have a DVD recorder. Then maybe I can record one channel on the max, and another channel on my DVD recorder! Is that possible? Wonder....??

FineTuned
20-05-2007, 06:36 PM
.......Then maybe I can record one channel on the max, and another channel on my DVD recorder! Is that possible? Wonder....??
That shouldn't be any problem......
However my worry is, once the promotion period is over, will you need to pay more to continue to use Astromax?

I note this condition in the AstroMax FAQ..........


16. Is there any additional monthly cost for the Astro MAX services?
As a special launch promotion, there is no additional monthly charge for use of the Astro MAX.

It doesn't exactly say this will continue indefinitely.

hhtee
21-05-2007, 04:01 PM
Sorry guys! I had been missing in Action.

I went to purchase a PVR-TV 300U

source:http://www.jakeludington.com/images/gadgets/kworldpvrtv300.jpg
http://www.jakeludington.com/images/gadgets/kworldpvrtv300.jpg

The good news is, FROM THE ADVERTISEMENT, it can record TV, etc. The salesman also told me can record Astro. The salesman also told me it can word on USB 1.0

THE BAD NEWS!!!!!
I tried on my Window XP SP1, with USB 1.0 laptop! All the installation was ok. but I cannot run the program.
Contacted the Taiwan manufacturer. No replies!

I also tried on Windows Vista, with USB 2.0! Now, the program can run BUT NOT FULLY and I cannot capture any video at all.

There goes my RM200+

guys. I just found out recently, this thing workS!!!

The Taiwan manufacturers didn't reply my queiries.
Anyways, I searched around and found that many had some problems.

So the solution is just to download from the manufacturer's website, the latest program.

So this device could actually record Astro, TV, etc.

My device I bought is a USB one. It costs about RM220. But if you want the internal one for your Desktop, it costs about RM100 +

It's worth a buy.

you can schedule the recording.

I think you can also preview many many channels (TV).

For Astro, you can only watch one channel at a time. I haven't tried previewing ALL of Astro's channel.

The problem is, this device works only with USB 2.0 and I don't have a USB 2 laptop. So the device is with my friend now!

stanleywkh
21-05-2007, 06:19 PM
guys. I just found out recently, this thing workS!!!

The Taiwan manufacturers didn't reply my queiries.
Anyways, I searched around and found that many had some problems.

So the solution is just to download from the manufacturer's website, the latest program.

So this device could actually record Astro, TV, etc.

My device I bought is a USB one. It costs about RM220. But if you want the internal one for your Desktop, it costs about RM100 +

It's worth a buy.

you can schedule the recording.

I think you can also preview many many channels (TV).

For Astro, you can only watch one channel at a time. I haven't tried previewing ALL of Astro's channel.

The problem is, this device works only with USB 2.0 and I don't have a USB 2 laptop. So the device is with my friend now!

I am going to get one too for my old camcorder those that use DV tapes. This external tv card I am getting for RM160 and it works with USB 1.1 according to my regular pc shop. Hope it can transfer good quality video to my notebook.

stanleywkh
21-05-2007, 06:22 PM
Well my hobby is watching tv programs,but since i am working n i am unable 2 watch the tv programs during day time.i purchased an AstroMax which cost me RM899(my old decoder was taken away) and it comes with a 80GB hard disk which can store up to 60hours of recorded programs.I surveyed around and infact i have tested the Sony DVD recorder,GC ,MWalker and also LG,but none of provide features like Astromax. While recording a program,u can always switch to another channel n continue watching other programs too.It is really user friendly and easy to handle. There are alot of features in it.Instead of purchasing a normal DVD-R which cost more than RM1000,AstroMax is reasonable and reliable.It is meant to watch at your own leisure.

Since you are using astromax can you enlighten me whether is it true that some programmes are restricted and cannot be recorded using Astromax.

FineTuned
21-05-2007, 08:01 PM
.......it works with USB 1.1 according to my regular pc shop. Hope it can transfer good quality video to my notebook.
USB 1.1 is way too slow for transfering video streaming data. You will suffer dropped frames at anything better than vcd resolution. Even USB 2.0 will struggle to transfer a full 720x576 PAL uncompressed video without dropping frames.

If you don't mind getting only DVD quality video (not really high quality video), you should get a capture device with built-in hardware mpeg2 encoder to reduce the transfer rates to something USB2.0 can manage.

BTW if you have a DV camcorder, you should be using the firewire port to transfer the video. You don't need a USB video capture device. Your camcorder itself is already a relatively high quality video digitiser (better than DVD quality).

You can just connect your Astro to the camcorder, and watch/record Astro on your notebook or desktop pc.

nyem
21-05-2007, 10:56 PM
Since you are using astromax can you enlighten me whether is it true that some programmes are restricted and cannot be recorded using Astromax.

I did come across programmes with no record option, but I treat this as software glitches as I can still record them using the manual record option. Manual record is when we specify the channel, start and end time to record.

hhtee
23-05-2007, 02:59 PM
I am going to get one too for my old camcorder those that use DV tapes. This external tv card I am getting for RM160 and it works with USB 1.1 according to my regular pc shop. Hope it can transfer good quality video to my notebook.

Well, I can not say anything about your regular pc shop sales person.

But for me, the device I bought, the specifications stated, USB 2.0. I told the sales person, "so this is only for USB 2.0." and the sales person said, "no, USB 1.0 also can work".

I trusted him but it couldn't work!

atom
23-05-2007, 11:49 PM
Cheapest external capture card with wiring cost RM185
External Harddisk 250gigabyte with casing cost RM 350 or less.


Hi, steelydan, pardon my ignorance on this high-tech gadget, how do you do the connection? Where do you plug the capture card and harddisk to? Do we need an external antenna?? plug to TV wall jack?? plug to astro recorder?? or simply plug to our computer?? :confused:

hhtee
24-05-2007, 09:21 AM
Hi, steelydan, pardon my ignorance on this high-tech gadget, how do you do the connection? Where do you plug the capture card and harddisk to? Do we need an external antenna?? plug to TV wall jack?? plug to astro recorder?? or simply plug to our computer?? :confused:

I don't know about his gadget but for my gadget I bought,

I basically

1) plug the device into a laptop / desktop's USB 2.0
2) plug the TV jack (not the three color Red, White, Yellow) into the device

That's all

alternatively, (I haven't tried)
1) same as above
2) plug the three color cable red, white, yellow into the device.

That's all

atom
24-05-2007, 10:27 AM
I don't know about his gadget but for my gadget I bought,

I basically

1) plug the device into a laptop / desktop's USB 2.0
2) plug the TV jack (not the three color Red, White, Yellow) into the device



Thanks, hhtee. As my computer (desktop) is in the bedroom, some distance away from my TV jack at the livingroom. If I don't want the messy cable across my apartment (tripping hazard), does it means I cannot do any recording at all even with the capture cards and the harddisk with the current setting??
:confused:

hhtee
24-05-2007, 10:41 AM
Thanks, hhtee. As my computer (desktop) is in the bedroom, some distance away from my TV jack at the livingroom. If I don't want the messy cable across my apartment (tripping hazard), does it means I cannot do any recording at all even with the capture cards and the harddisk with the current setting??
:confused:
yeah. Your computer have to be very near the TV jack.

Only way is to do a wiring to your bedroom or
bring your desktop to the living room.

Unfortunately, I have not seen any WIRELESS gadget yet. Maybe you have to wait a few years before this device goes wireless.

atom
24-05-2007, 12:40 PM
ooh.. there goes my astro recording... thanks hhtee. :)

hhtee
24-05-2007, 01:50 PM
just my suggestion,

well, you noted tripping hazard. why don't you have the cable "cling" on to your ceiling ?

you could nail the cable onto the ceiling and wall.

or if it is just for recording only one time, you could temporary place the cable on the floor and tape it up and put a notce, "Warning, recording in progress, those who trip over this cable will distrupt the recording and the consequences would be sewere as you will trip and fall."

atom
24-05-2007, 02:17 PM
hhtee, I would like to have permanent set-up. never know which is my favorite program I am going to miss. I just missed the final episode (the conclusion) of my favorite chinese serial about an insurance-agent cum detetive story, don't really know what happened to the man and his girl-friend? I also missed last night Liverpool UEFA match.

About nailing the wire to the wall, wifey will nail me to the wall.. :)

FineTuned
24-05-2007, 03:58 PM
Unfortunately, I have not seen any WIRELESS gadget yet. Maybe you have to wait a few years before this device goes wireless.
Wireless video RF adapters/extenders have been in the market for many years now. You can find plenty of them in Pasar road. They are commonly used by people who want to hook up multiple TVs to their Astro without having to run coaxial RF cables all over the place.

Setting up one is simple: Connect the transmitter to your Astro Decoder's composite and audio output, set an unused TV channel, tune your USB/PCI video capture card's tuner to that same channel, and hey presto, you can watch and record Astro on your notebook/desktop pc wirelessly.

But I have to warn users that the video quality is only so so unless you have direct line of sight between the transmitter and your capture card antenna.

BTW you can also broadcast video from your DVD player in the same way.

FineTuned
26-05-2007, 09:39 AM
I just realised I forgot something important. The method I mentioned above is illegal without a broadcasting licence.

USJ27Resident
26-05-2007, 11:01 AM
I just realised I forgot something important. The method I mentioned above is illegal without a broadcasting licence.

Oh yess... this brings back memories when I was staying in Court 3. My neighbour hooked up his video player (those days it was still video players!) to one of those gadgets and had wanted to watch "blue" on his TV in the room.... he unwittingly broadcasted his "adult channel" on VHF to almost everyone on the block... signal was close enough to TV2 VHF signal to fade in and out... :D Somemore it happened during primetime... think it was like around 8pm :p

USJ27Resident
26-05-2007, 11:04 AM
About nailing the wire to the wall, wifey will nail me to the wall.. :)

hahaaa... hmmm... i think your wifey is genetically related to my wifey... :p i get the same reaction too, if i start any DiY's projects without her approvals... come to think of it... MPSJ renovation application for approval much easier :p

patrick
26-05-2007, 03:32 PM
That shouldn't be any problem......
However my worry is, once the promotion period is over, will you need to pay more to continue to use Astromax?

I note this condition in the AstroMax FAQ..........

It doesn't exactly say this will continue indefinitely.

But I thought the Max is sold outright? So, how can they not continue??? Did I missed something?

FineTuned
26-05-2007, 11:16 PM
But I thought the Max is sold outright? So, how can they not continue??? Did I missed something?
With AstroMax, you are essentially getting the equivalent of 2 subscriptions for the price of one. Previously, if you wanted to watch one channel and record another simultaneously, you had to have 2 subscriptions and 2 decoders.

I wouldn't be surprised if Astro decides to charge more for AstroMax usuage once they get enough people hooked on it.